2017 Conference Speakers and Session Moderators

Morning Keynote

Dr. Soeren Mattke, Managing Director of RAND Health Advisory Services
Dr. Mattke will deliver the breakfast keynote presentation focusing on “the barriers to entry and diffusion of digital health innovations.”  

Dr. Mattke is an expert in evaluating new technologies and products as well as innovative approaches to organizing and delivering health care services, especially for chronic care. He has worked with a long list of leading pharmaceutical, device, and health care technology companies and is helping his clients worldwide on how to measure and communicate the value of their innovations. He is advising clients on strategic planning decisions, product approval applications, coverage and reimbursement strategy, post-market product development, and corporate communications. 
Dr. Mattke received his M.D. from the University of Munich and his M.P.H. and D.Sc. from the Harvard School of Public Health.

Luncheon Keynote

James Crawford, Vice President and Group Business Information Officer of Kaiser Permanente 
James Crawford is Vice President and Group Business Information Officer for Kaiser Permanente information technology in Southern California. He leads the delivery of information technology to more than 3.7 million Kaiser Permanente members in Southern California, as well as 6,000 physicians and 61,000 employees who work in 14 medical centers and nearly 200 medical offices across the region.
Mr. Crawford has more than 20 years of experience in information technology. Before assuming his current position in 2006, he served various roles within Kaiser Permanente, including Senior Director of Planning and Operations and Regional Chief Information Officer for the Georgia and Ohio regions.
Mr. Crawford holds a Bachelor’s degree from the University of California, Los Angeles 

Moderators & Panelists

Wade  Ackerman 



Pratik Agrawal

Data & Informatics Innovation

Medtronic Diabetes 

Patrick Bertagna

President & CEO


Seamus Blackley 

Principal Scientist 


Peter Blaisdell, PhD 

Scientific Advisory Board Member Meditope Biosciences 

William Dolphin 

Investor and Serial Entrepreneur

Ahmed Enany 

President & CEO


Cesar Garcia

President & CEO


David Hood


DH3 Associates

Dan Hurley

VP of IT

Solera Health

Neal Kaufman

Founder & CMO

Canary Health

Bhaskar Krishnamachari


USC Center for CyberPhysical Systems and the Internet of Things

Michael Maylahn


Stasis Labs

Onur Mudanyali

Director of R&D

Cellmic LLC

Michael Orosz, PhD 

Research Director


Jag Padala



Dean Sawyer

President & CEO


Ayman Salem


Ikioo Technologies

Robert Schultz

Device Regulatory Affairs


Subbarao Surampudi, PhD

Program Manager


Nima Tajbakhsh

Lead Scientist


Julian Vergel de Dios 

Software Developer


Scott Witt

Sr. VP

Unified Dispatch LLC

Kevin Zhang


Upfront Ventures